Maestro Richard Scherbo conducting

Our Team

Board of Directors

Victor Reid – President, Attorney

Laura Price – Treasurer, KPMG

Gary Carleton, Finra

Claudine Chen-Young, Morgan Lewis

Linda Cureton,* Muse Technologies

Rodrigo Hurtado, Beauregard Medical

Yael Marciano, Strathos Consulting

Elizabeth Castillo Marshall, Georgetown Hospital

Dennis de Tray, Results for Development Institute and Nazarbayev University

Lisa Joire, Parent Rep 

 

Staff

Natalia Allende, Communications Director – natalia@dcyop.org 202 698 0123 ext 706

Elle Clack, Development Coordinator – elle@dcyop.org 202 698 0123 ext 707

Rashida Coleman,* Program Manager (Young Musicians Academy) – rashida@dcyop.org 202 698 0123 ext 701

Philip Espe, Program Manager (Children’s Orchestra) – philip@dcyop.org 202 698 0123 ext 702

Elizabeth Schurgin, Executive Director – elizabeth@dcyop.org

Badriyyah Shakir, Office Associate – badriyyah@dcyop.org 202 698 0123 ext 705

Kwamel Simms,* Operations Assistant – kwamel@dcyop.org

Evan Ross Solomon, Program and Artistic Director – evan@dcyop.org 202 698 0123 ext 700

Mariano Vales, Music Director – mariano@dcyop.org

Maya Weil,* Development Director – maya@dcyop.org 202 698 0123 ext 703

 

Conductors

Mariano Vales, Youth Orchestra

Richard Scerbo, Youth Philharmonic

Philip Espe, Repertory Orchestra

Angelica Kalasz, Young Artists Orchestra

Elise Cuffy,* Sinfonias 

Angela Underdue,* Wind Ensemble

Rachel Pereira, Debut Orchestra

 

Teaching Artists

Violin

  • Ken Giles
  • Alison Konopka
  • Heather MacArthur
  • Ellen McSweeney
  • Rachel Pereira
  • Derek Powell
  • Deanna Said
  • Josalyn Walker*

Viola

  • Bryce Bunner
  • Leslie DeLaine*
  • Brandon Lewis*
  • YaShuana Swan*

Cello

  • Carrie Bean Stute
  • Katie Chambers
  • Arash Shahry
  • Denna Purdie*
  • Johnny Walker*

Bass

  • Ephraim Wolfolk
  • Scott Douglass

 

 

Flute

  • Derek Johnson
  • David Lonkevich

Oboe

  • Michael Homme
  • Jamie Roberts

Clarinet

  • Dennis Malloy

Bassoon

  • Ben Greanya

Recorder & Saxophone

  • Rana Poindexter*

French Horn

  • Chandra Cervantes
  • Kevin Illick

Trumpet

  • Kevin McKee

Trombone & Tuba

 

Percussion

  • Don Johns

Harp

  • Zoe Coppola

* Alumni